Cloudy skies, cool wind and university English language essay.

20130412-230055.jpg
The last few days have been cloudy with some sunny spells and a cool breeze which was a bit chilly if you weren’t in a sheltered place. In fact probably more the kind of weather you’d expect in cooler climes like UK – in the summer!
However, I haven’t had much time to worry too much about the weather as I’ve been trying to focus my thoughts on my next Open University assignment. I enjoy the study part but always seem to get myself into a panic when the deadline gets nearer and what I thought was going to be straightforward turns out to be a lot more demanding. It’s weird how it all sounds so perfect and logical in my head but as soon as I try to start writing it all my ideas become as solid as the clouds that have been in the sky this week!
Anyway, this essay is all about the way English is used in higher education around the world and it got me thinking – how many people writing and reading on this blog site are writing in English as a non-native language? And if they are do they also contribute to another blog site in their first language.
Certainly since starting this course about the place of English in the world today it has made me realise that as a first language English speaker some aspects and opportunities are easier for me but my life would be much richer if I was competent in another language as well. And more than this I am totally in awe of the thousands and thousands of people who every day are studying, working and living using English as a foreign language.

Leave a Reply

