Sea Fever

I must go down to the sea again, for the call of the running tide……wrote the poet John Mansfield in his poem Sea Fever. Maybe because my heritage and family have always been related to the sea after a few weeks of living in the desert I begin to crave the smell of the salty air in my lungs. On Wednesday I will get my ‘fix’ when we travel the 3 plus hours to Aqaba in Jordan. Although Jordan is also a Muslim country it is more liberal than Saudi Arabia which means – churches, alcohol, pork, women are allowed to drive and you don’t have to wear an abaya and cover your head.

20130527-231443.jpg
Sitting on the balcony of the hotel in Aqaba I always think how fascinating it is to be looking over at Egypt and Israel -amazingly close but 2 countries I have yet to visit! One day- Inshallah as they say in this part if the world:)
Roll on Wednesday for a little r&r and hopefully a nice sea breeze as the forecast is for 44degs C!!

1 thought on “Sea Fever

Leave a comment