Back in the Kingdom!

So after a lovely, busy, enjoyable month in Scotland I’m back in Saudi. Lucky for me I have a whole month to relax before school starts again:) so I’m anticipating some serious crafting, book reading and relaxing before that happens!
One month seems like a long holiday for those at home but it flies by and is usually a bit hectic as we always seem to try to pack 5 or 6 months activities into the time. I suppose that’s natural as we have a definite deadline for getting things done or they just don’t get done until the next time. This time we managed to catch up with a lot of friends and family which is always enjoyable. One of my old school friends I hadn’t seen for many years. She lives in the south of England and was up visiting her mother. She brought her son along, who is now 27 – I’m sure he was about 8 last time I saw him! Time certainly zooms past these days. I don’t know if its different for people in other parts of the country but I find that most of my family and friends especially those who went to university just don’t return home again unless they still have parents in the area. This means that the chances of meeting up with them are limited and many years can go by without seeing each other. Another reason I am so glad for – the love it or hate it- Facebook, as at least there is a bit more interaction with each other than the annual, hastily scrawled Christmas card.
When I left Saudi Ramadan had just begun. Now it is Eid holiday and party time for the local people for a few days. This means that my husband doesn’t have to go to work til Tuesday, which is nice to have some time to relax together after travelling back. It’s traditional to give chocolates at Eid and yesterday on the Saudia flight to Tabuk we were given these little boxes of chocolates:) such a lovely thing to do and I thought – now why doesn’t BA do that at Christmas? – or a choccie egg at Easter?

20130810-161547.jpg
Now that I have a much more reliable Internet and a bit more time to myself I hope my blogging will get back on track again and there will probably be a lot of back tracking over my holiday. – please bear with me:)

Leave a Reply

