In my garden

Even after living here for many years I’m never totally confident about when to successfully plant seeds and get results. This morning I tended my little herb/veg patch with the hope that in a few weeks I might have some fresh salad leaves to pick. This would be very welcome as apart from long lettuce, very occasionally iceberg lettuce and sometimes rocket there isn’t much choice in the salad leaf department to be had in the supermarket.
Whilst preparing my small patch for planting I dug up some insect larvae. I’m not exactly sure what they are- beetle things maybe? Any suggestions welcome:)

20130907-222735.jpg
When I went to get some potting compost I remembered the tiny gecko eggs I’d found there a few months ago. Here is what I found.

20130907-222929.jpg
🙂 they’d hatched. I was so pleased that I hadn’t caused them any harm last time. When I moved the canvas covering the potting compost bag this gecko ran out.

20130907-223144.jpg
Perhaps it was one of the hatchlings? It looked a bit big, but then I don’t know how quickly they grow.
My garlic chives are flowering at the moment and are proving to be very popular with the bees.

20130907-223628.jpg
As well as a beetle that I haven’t noticed before.

20130907-223724.jpg
Although it’s still 35 deg C here it’s lovely to find a shady spot and enjoy a little time noticing the wonderful nature that exists here.

2 thoughts on “In my garden

    • Thank you so much:) I must admit I’m always very cautious moving things in the garden as I live in fear that I’ll disturb a scorpion, snake or camel spider or ? Thankfully, it’s usually a gecko:)

Leave a Reply

