Felting.

A few years ago I took a felting workshop in Switzerland. I was in heaven – a whole week of being in the mountains with like minded people playing around with wool.
Sadly, since then I have done very little with the knowledge I gained.
Living in Saudi I only wear warm clothes for a short time in the winter so now that the days are a wee bit cooler I decided to wash some of my cardigans in readiness for cycling to school in the cooler mornings. One of my cardigans was becoming a bit holey so I thought it would be fun to have a go at felting it.

20130922-203119.jpg
So in my usual slap dash way I chucked it in the washing machine on the hottest setting and waited to see what happened. Success – it shrunk! Next a dry off in a hot tumble dryer and I had a felted cardigan to play with.

20130922-203534.jpg
I set to with scissors and cut it up into all its original pieces.
With a piece from the back I’ve made this cafetiere cosy.

20130922-204106.jpg

20130922-204133.jpg
I’m really pleased with how it looks.
At the moment I’m not sure what to do with my other pieces. Ideas very welcome:)

4 thoughts on “Felting.

  1. Amazing! What a great result. I never tried felting, but it really looks nice.
    A felting workshop in Switzerland with like minded people, that sounds so nice. It reminds me of something I recently read about a knitting trip to Iceland and at the same time trying to see the northern light. That must be like magic.

    • went to Iceland a few years ago in the Summer and loved it. didn’t get much chance to explore the wool side of things so a workshop there would definitely be something to add to my wish list -plus the Northern lights -Bonus šŸ™‚ Thank you.

Leave a Reply

