An inspirational artist.

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be staying at the Shangrli La Resort in Oman and chanced upon an exhibition by the Omani artist Safiya Al Bahlani. I loved her mixed media approach and admired her even more when I read her biography and the challenges she has faced.

20131119-184152.jpg

20131119-184222.jpg

20131119-184318.jpg

20131119-184346.jpg

20131119-184414.jpg

20131119-184436.jpg

Her pieces definitely reflect her culture and I was sorely tempted to buy one, but didn’t. Instead I bought some silver Bedouin jewellery as a momento of my visit. I hope I don’t regret my decision.

Biography
My name is Safiya Al Bahlani, I am an Omani artist, graphic designer, and inspirational and motivational speaker.

I was studying animation and graphic design, but was not able to complete my studies, but on a daily basis I try teaching myself through various tutorials and through practise.

I am a physically challenged young woman. I would like to draw the attention of Omani society to recognize that people with special needs, are unique, talented and able to contribute to the society.
I have been drawing and painting ever since I can remember, it has always been my way of expressing my emotions and communicating my thoughts to the world.

I was recognized for my skills when I was fourteen, then I started learning art under various teachers and artists.

At The American International School of Muscat, I took AP Art, which is an advanced program for art in preparation for studying art in college, where I started learning using different medias in art using various mediums and techniques.
During my college years in Jordan I held my first solo exhibition which contained thirty of my paintings. It was a wonderful experience, had many positive feedbacks that encouraged me to think of doing one in my own country.

In March 2011 in collaboration with an Omani fashion designer, we had combined fashion show and art exhibition. The theme was derived from His Majesty annual speeches which inspired to us to incorporate them in a collection of dresses, and paintings.

I have also been drawing on the I Pad, which I participated in Muscat Festival 2012 with ITA to promote technology as in COMEX 2012

I just had my third solo exhibition, with Bait Al Zubair, at the Shangri La, Bar Al Jissah “Beneath The Surface”.

Currently, I am trying to establish my own graphic design company, I am also a freelancer in Inspirational, and Motivational speaker.

Leave a Reply

