Cycle trip.

Before returning to the UK we promised ourselves that we would make walking and cycling a regular part of our lives. So far we are averaging 2 trips a week, which at the moment with lots to do in the house and garden I feel very pleased about.

We both lived in this area as youngsters and have memories of heading off with our friends on cycle trips to various places in the locality. One of the places we’d both frequented was a stretch of coast called Boar’s Head, after the rocky outcrop just offshore from it.

As not such a fit youngster I wasn’t sure how I’d fair on this 13 mile round trip!

A welcome rest!

After a short spell on the narrow tarmac road we reached Lossie Forest and were pleasantly surprised at the smooth forest track. The sun was warm on my face, the birds were flitting around the trees and we virtually had the place to ourselves. I was glad we had made the effort to get out.

In 1940 it was decided that coastal defences were needed in this part of Scotland as there was a fear that the Germans would invade from Norway. At Boar’s Head you can still see the remains of the Gun Battery that was built here. As a child I always felt a mixture of excitement and eeriness when playing around these reminders of a war that was still very fresh in my parents minds.

IMG_3262

Sitting in front of a pillbox.

IMG_3253

The lookout.

Beforehand I checked out the Geocache site and found there were 5 hidden in the general area. I managed to ‘bag’ 3 so felt a great sense of achievement all round.

IMG_3278

Geocache beside a line of tank defence blocks.

Earlier in the week my father had been telling me how his uncle who had been a builder didn’t think these blocks would last very long as they had been constructed using the beach sand instead of builders sand! 70 years later, apart from a few they look in pretty good shape!

Interesting salt patterns have 'grown' on many of the blocks.

Interesting salt patterns have ‘grown’ on many of the blocks. I think these look like a pair of dancing witches!

After a small picnic of cheese, crackers and of course some chocolate like in days gone by we headed home.

IMG_3268

I was pleasantly surprised at how much energy I still had by the time I got home and ‘touch wood’ I haven’t felt any aches and pains —-so far!

Inspired by our successful ‘expedition’ we are now watching the weather forecast for the next nice day to head off on another ‘memory lane’ trip.

 

2 thoughts on “Cycle trip.

Leave a Reply

