Inherited WIP.

As if I didn’t have enough WIP’s I have now inherited a nearly finished sock!

IMG_4927

On the way back from Islay a few weeks ago I was passing  the time on the ferry by knitting a sock. A new friend saw me and was delighted to find someone who knitted with 4 needles. She had recently been helping to clear out a woman’s house who had died and found the WIP. Originally, she had thought to try to finish the socks herself and then donate them to charity. Not being much of a knitter when she saw me knitting I provided a solution to getting the socks finished! I agreed to give it a try.

Last  weekend I saw her again and was greeted with ‘I’ve got the knitting, if you’d still like it!’

IMG_4930

I was relieved to see it came with a knitting book which I assumed contained the pattern.

IMG_4932

It appeared that the socks were to be a pair of Men’s Ribbed Golf Socks, but when I read over the pattern and compared it to the already knitted sock the original knitter had made a modification to the look. Not only had she decided to knit the turnover top with a contrasting band but she had also changed it to include cables.

IMG_4931

So just a wee bit of extra thought and working out to do, then!!

Hopefully my tension won’t be drastically different, but as I usually knit using the European way I’ll have to change to the British way to finish the sock.

Anyway, nothing ventured as they say!

I’m not sure when I’ll see my friend again but hopefully I’ll be able to present her with a completed pair of socks by then.

2 thoughts on “Inherited WIP.

  1. Thanks Christine. Will do😀. Was wondering if they were being knitted as kilt socks as I’m not sure if golfers wear those kind of socks these days. Just finished a pair of socks for my brother so no excuse not to get started on the WIP now.

Leave a Reply

