Machine Felting.

 

I’m no expert but I have made a few things using the hand felting technique but had never given machine felting much thought. That was until I was visiting one of my favourite wool shops Karelia House near Aberfeldy. There I fell in love with a felted bag I just had to make. It was made using Colinette Hullabaloo 100% wool. Choosing 2 colours for the stripes was easy- nice bright and contrasting; pink and turquoise.

image

Having bought my wool I was entitled to a free pattern for the bag so I was all set to get knitting. It was an easy knit and I was soon finished with that part of the process.

image

Next a bit of stitching up. The pattern suggested mattress stitch. I wasn’t sure what that was so a visit to YouTube soon enlightened me. Mattress stitch certainly made the seams nice and snug and I’ll be using it again for suitable projects in the future.

image

And now for the scary/exciting bit- the machine wash! Tossing my nurtured project into the washing machine and leaving it to the mercy of the 40 degree C wash cycle I went off to work on another project. When the machine wash finished I was right there, holding my breath to see the results……..and I wasn’t disappointed.

Once dry I had fun adding a fun way to fasten my bag using pom poms and a wooden embellishment bought at Hobbycraft.

Here is how it looks.image

Our local Flower Show was yesterday so I bravely entered it in the felted design class.image

What a lovely surprise awaited me after the judges had finished!

One thought on “Machine Felting.

Leave a Reply

